EYFS Curriculum

In Reception there are 7 areas of learning - the prime areas and specific areas.

The prime areas underpin all that we do in the EYFS. These areas lay the foundations for a child's success in all areas of learning. 

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development 

The specific areas provide the experiences and opportunities to broaden your child's skills and knowledge. 

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The document below contains the 'Early Learning Goals' (ELGs). The ELGs summarise the knowledge, skills and understanding that we want your child to have gained by the end of the reception year.